Prima Ballerina Viengsay Valdes Recognized by Young Artists Association

Prima Ballerina Viengsay Valdes

Prima Ballerina Viengsay Valdes

Prima ballerina of the Cuba’s National Ballet Viengsay Valdes was declared Member of Honour of the Hermanos Saiz Association (AHS)

Cuba, July, 13 – All I have done is the result of a valuable legacy handed down to me by Alicia and Fernando, the maitres who trained me… And that heritage is part of a tradition that I will also transmit to the new generations, it is in my heart, in my body, in my hands, and in my skin. To that end I will accompany my country forever.This is what the prima ballerina of Cuba’s National Ballet Viengsay Valdes said at the live show Encuentro con…, presented by journalist Magda Resik at the May Hall in the Pabellon Cuba, national venue of the Hermanos Saiz Association (AHS), in the Arte en la Rampa fair.

It was precisely in this context that the National Council of the organization that gathers the most outstanding of young artists and writers, which is meeting in Havana to further the preparations for its Second Congress, decided to grant Viengsay, who has become a symbol for the Cuban culture among the younger generation of artists, the condition of Member of Honour.
Close to her 20th anniversary in the more renowned dancing group in Cuba, Valdes assured that despite the offers of profitable contracts made by prestigious companies in the world, the idea of giving up her land has never crossed her mind. “Cuba is and will always be my only home. I am proud of my flag, my people. I will thank this Revolution forever for giving me the opportunity to make my dream come true.

“Although I was raised in the years of the special period, when there were quite a few ballet shoes and the flooring unstuck, this fact, instead of crushing my spirit, made me stronger, it instilled in me the tenacity of this great people; it made me an artist”, she said to an audience who applauded on several occasions. Minister of Culture Rafael Bernal, and President of UNEAC Miguel Barnet presided over the act.

“We are proud to count on Viengsay among the members of the Association,” President of the AHS Luis Morlote Rivas stressed. “The Association is honoured by granting her this appointment because of what she represents: creative excellence, respect for traditions, absolute dedication, a sense of belonging, and love of her homeland”.

Source: Juventud Rebelde

Leave a Reply

